Saturday, March 14, 2015

Women's Hall of Fame Induction at AHS

The AHS Museum was a wonderful venue to feature this group of very accomplished and important woman of Arizona on Thursday, March 12. The Steele Auditorium was packed as we honored eight women. They join 91 others who have changed Arizona and national history.

Cactus Pine Girl Scouts Troops 1715 and 1874 greeted guests and handed out programs. Their Color Guard did a professional job of presenting the flags and started the ceremonies.

Inductees were
Marietta Bryant (1911-2003) and Daisy Moore (1908-1985)
Lorraine W. Frank (1923-2005)
Louise Foucar Marshall (1864-1956)
Helen K. Mason (1912-2003)
U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor
Elisabeth F. Ruffler
Lucy Sikorsky (1889-1972)

Pictoral quilts adorned the walls with photos of the Inductees. This year is the first time for the Living Legacy Inductions which includes living women. They are Sandra Day O'Connor and Elisabeth Ruffner whom the Historical League has all ready honored as Historymakers.

Many family members and friends were in the audience to support the inductees.